Popular Posts


Avacyn Restored FAQ

Happy Tuesday afternoon MTG peeps,

This is our second post for the day.  In our first post, we formally introduced our first official 'Tumblr Tuesdays', but for now we wanted to cover off the Avacyn Restored FAQ / Frequently Asked Questions document (WoTC linky here).  As you are likely headed out to the prerelease event this weekend (with thousands of other Magic: The Gathering players), it may help to give this document a look over.  For now, here's a quick run-down of the two new Avacyn Restored mechanics -

New Keyword: Miracle
Miracle is a keyword mechanic introduced in Avacyn Restored. Miracle provides an alternate cost for a card which can be used while drawing it if it is the first card drawn during a turn. The timing of casting it is similar to the timing of casting cards with Madness. If a player intends to cast a card for its miracle cost, the card must be revealed immediately. Costs are being payed when the effect causing the draw is finished and the triggered ability to cast it resolves.

Mythic Miracles : Entreat the Angels, Bonfire of the Damned, Temporal Mastery.
Rare Miracles : Terminus, Devastation Tide, Reforge the Soul, Revenge of the Hunted.
Uncommon Miracles : Banishing Stroke, Vanishment, Thunderous Wrath, Blessings of Nature.

702.91. Miracle

702.91a Miracle is a static ability linked to a triggered ability (see rule 603.10). "Miracle [cost]" means "You may reveal this card from your hand as you draw it if it's the first card you've drawn this turn. When you reveal this card this way, you may cast it by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost."

702.91b If a player chooses to reveal a card using its miracle ability, he or she plays with that card revealed until that card leaves his or her hand, that ability resolves, or that ability otherwise leaves the stack.

New Keyword: Soulbond
Soulbond is a keyword mechanic introduced in Avacyn Restored. Soulbond pairs up creatures with each other. When a creature with Soulbond enters the battlefield, it can choose another unpaired creature. The creatures are considered paired with each other. The player may also choose not to pair with another creature, and then choose to pair with another creature when that creature enters the battlefield. Usually, the creature with Soulbond as well as its pair gain abilities or advantages when paired up. There are also other cards which look for paired up creatures.  Creatures can not become members of multiple pairs. However, if two creatuers with Soulbond pair up, they each provide their benefits to each other.

White (3) : Nearheath Pilgrim, Silverblade Paladin, Spectral Gateguards
Blue (5) : Deadeye Navigator, Elgaud Shieldmate, Stern Mentor, Tandem Lookout, Wingcrafter
Red (3) : Hanweir Lancer, Lightning Mauler, Stonewright,
Green (8) : Diregraf Escort, Druid's Familiar, Flowering Lumberknot, Geist Trappers, Nightshade Peddler, Pathbreaker Wurm, Trusted Forcemage, Wolfir Silverheart

702.92. Soulbond

702.92a. Soulbond is a keyword that represents two triggered abilities. "Soulbond" means "When this creature enters the battlefield, if you control both this creature and another creature and both are unpaired, you may pair this creature with another unpaired creature you control for as long as both remain creatures on the battlefield under your control" and "Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, if you control both that creature and this one and both are unpaired, you may pair that creature with this creature for as long as both remain creatures on the battlefield under your control."

702.92b A creature becomes "paired" with another as the result of a soulbond ability. Abilities may refer to a paired creature, the creature another creature is paired with, or whether a creature is paired. An "unpaired" creature is one that is not paired.

702.92c When the soulbond ability resolves, if either object that would be paired is no longer a creature, no longer on the battlefield, or no longer under the control of the player who controls the soulbond ability, neither object becomes paired.

702.92d A creature can be paired with only one other creature.

702.92e A paired creature becomes unpaired if any of the following occur: another player gains control of it or the creature it's paired with; it or the creature it's paired with stops being a creature; or it or the creature it's paired with leaves the battlefield.
Finally, the folks over at MTG Mint Card is running a contest with a pretty cool giveaway . . .


No comments: