Popular Posts


Magic 2013

Happy Tuesday MTG peeps,

We were planning to provide a follow-up post to yesterday's article detailing the numerous Dark Ascension art spoilers / previews but wanted to pass along (if you've not yet heard) about today's announcement on the mothership for the next Magic the Gathering core set - Magic 2013.

Firstly, let's have a quick review of upcoming set releases :
  • Dark Ascension - February 2012
  • Avacyn Restored - May 2012
  • Magic 2013 - July 2012
  • 'Hook' - October 2012
  • 'Line' - February 2013
  • 'Sinker' - May 2013
  • Magic 2014 - July 2013
  • 'Friends' - October 2013
  • 'Romans' - February 2014
  • 'Countrymen' - May 2014
  • Magic 2015 - July 2014
  • 'Huey' - October 2014
  • 'Dewey' - February 2015
  • 'Louie' - May 2015
As of September 30, 2011, Standard format consists of cards released in the following sets : Scars of Mirrodin, Mirrodin Besieged, New Phyrexia, Magic 2012 Core Set, and Innistrad. Pesonally, our favourite time of year for standard constructed is the short time between the core set release in July and the large October set when standard rotates. The extra cards provides and environment where home-brews and rogue decks are afforded incredible opportunity.

Anywhoos - enough yattering - onto today's announcement !

'Face a Greater Challenge'
Set Name Magic 2013
Three-Letter Abbreviation M13
Twitter Hashtag #MTGM13
Number of Cards 249
Release Date July 13, 2012
Launch Weekend July 13-15, 2012
Prerelease Events July 7-8, 2012
Release Date July 13, 2012
Game Day August 4-5, 2012
Design Team : Doug Beyer (lead), Aaron Forsythe, Graeme Hopkins, Ryan Miller, Mark Purvis

Development Team : Zac Hill (lead), Ethan Fleischer, Mark L. Gottlieb, Tom LaPille, Max McCall, Ryan Miller

Standard rotates once each year, with the release of the October large set. Magic 2013 will enter Standard on its release without knocking anything out, then Magic 2012 and Scars of Mirrodin block will leave Standard with the release of "Hook." The Standard format between Magic 2013 and "Hook" will consist of Scars of Mirrodin block, Innistrad block, Magic 2012, and Magic 2013. After the release of "Hook," it will consist of Innistrad Block, Magic 2013, and "Hook."

Of interest is that the logo is a platinum colour and not the typical gold as with previous core set releases - perhaps this is a nodd towards the 20th Anniversary of Magic the Gathering. Also of note - there was no preview art released with the announcment - which gave us a sad. :(

No comments: