Popular Posts



Good Day MTG Peeps

Remember when we told you we were waaay up north on vacation this week - we did not lie but we did write up one or two articles to be posted automatically on a latter date without us piloting the mouse 'n' keyboard.  This was done to ensure that you keep out of trouble and to hopefully not loose you as a regular reader (yes we really do care that you guys show up almost every day by the thousands to read our Magic the Gathering drivel).

Anywhoos - We have heard some as yet unsubstantiated romours about the return of certain (older and possibly well-loved) mechanics in the next upcoming set, Scars of Mirrodin, so this is post one of two to yatter about these -

Modular is a keyword ability that allows artifact creatures to come into play with a number of +1/+1 counters, and put those counters on another artifact creature when the creature goes to a graveyard. Modular appeared in Darksteel and Fifth Dawn. So far the only creatures to appear with Modular also have

"Arcbound" in the title.

From the Comprehensive Rules (as of Magic 2010)

    * 702.40.. Modular

          o 702.40a Modular represents both a static ability and a triggered ability. “Modular N” means “This permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it” and “When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, you may put a +1/+1 counter on target artifact creature for each +1/+1 counter on this permanent.”

          o 702.40b If a creature has multiple instances of modular, each one works separately.

Stay tuned for our next automated post . .

No comments: