Pages

Popular Posts

12.18.2009

Worldwake Review - Jace

~
We have to hand it to Wizards that the slow Jace, the Mind Sculptor puzzle spoiler of the Worldwake Planeswalker Chase was brilliant. Fans were definitely on the edge of their seats in nail-biting anticipation. If we have any suggestions at all, it would be to have the last puzzle piece be the part which incorporates most of the loyalty abilities of the Planeswalker. As it stood, this particular piece (with the postivie / negative abilities) was spoiled in Toronto, a full three hours ahead of the last piece in California. The MTG fan community pretty much knew the full card by the time the last piece was picked up.


As it stands, we feel it à propos to follow up yesterday's excitement with a short post dissecting the new Jace and it's potential in our world of casual standard-environment Magic the Gathering. Before we get into it, a quick review of this Worldwake card for reference.

Jace, the Mind Sculptor - 2
Planeswalker - Jace

[+2] : Look at the top card of target player's library. You may put that card on the bottom of that player's library.
[0] : Draw three cards, then put two cards from your hand on top of your library in any order.
[-1] : Return target creature to its owner's hand.
[-12] : Exile all cards from target player's library, then that player shuffles his or her hand into his or her library.
{3}


~

The first ability is +2 which in our opinion is decent. This will put up the loyality counters to 5 on turn one giving Jace some more body with withstand some red burn (read: Lightning Bolt) if you happen not to have a blocker up yet. This first ability is sweet. Of course this would have been even more nasty if the Morningtide Banneret cycle was still in standard. This ability first appeared on two cards in Future Sight and was properly called Fateseal. Altough this ability is too random to be effective, if luck is on your side, it can provide a measure of control over your opponent or be downright hazardous to them should the planets align.

The second ability is pegged at 0 which esentially provides a free Brainstorm (Fifth Eiditon card). [Edit - we are retarded - please see Matt's comment - This means that one can NOT activate both abilities on the same turn.] This Ponder like abilitiy allows one to draw three cards which is never a bad thing in a format with fetchlands and cascade spells. One of the drawbacks to cascade to date was the randomness of it - not knowing what one was going to flip. This Brainstorm ability will allow one to decide whether or not to play that cascade spell in your hand and be able to know what cascaded spell will turn up. More control on cascade is just awesome in our opinion. We suggest that you consider the absolutely beautiful synergy this ability has with Enigma Sphinx. Whenever the Sphinx goes for that dirt nap in your graveyard, rest assured that Jace's second ability will find the Sphinx again next turn third from the top and set you up to cascade again. We are currently thinking about using Jace with Lorescale Coatl and Sages of the Anima for a big snake beater or flooding our side of the board with critters.











The third ability is a -1 Unsummon. This ability is simply amazing. One can either teporarily remove an opponent's board threat or can set up some shenanigans with 'comes into play' cards. Players contemplating land destuction decks are now thinking about using this new Jace with Mold Shambler, Acidic Slime or Goblin Ruinblaster. There is a vast stable of cards which one may employ with this third ability; Kor Sanctifiers, Magister Sphinx, Meddling Mage, Parasitic Strix, or even just Zendikar Allies.

Now for the fourth ability. If this goes off, you are assured a game win. This ability essentially mills your opponent to within an hair's-breadth of their last and final move before they loose. [Edit: Please don't use the Lord - the 'milled' cards are exiled, not heading to the graveyard -Hopefully at this moment, you have a Lord of Extinction either on board or waiting in your hand to squash for the win]

This card will be starting off in the MTG Singles market at $15 but we are certain it will climb much higher as more the Worldwake gets spoiled / previewed. If you are Christmas shopping for a blue / control players, we are certain they will be most appreciative of this gift.

7 comments:

Matt said...

You mention about the second ability on Jace that "This means that one can activate both abilities on the same turn."

Where are you getting that information/idea from? Just because a loyalty ability does not add or remove loyalty counters does not mean you can activate this ability as well as another loyalty ability.

ron said...

Lord of extinction would not be that good since Jace will exile his deck either then put it in his graveyard.

Anonymous said...

i don't think lord of extinction would be helped by jace ultimate ability at all because it exiles all cards in the library, not sent them to the graveyard, so he wouldn't get a buff. or do exiled cards count as being in a graveyard as well?

Anonymous said...

Just wanted to say about the Lord of Extinction idea you had don't make sence as Jaces ultimate Exiles an oppenents library from the game. It does not mill them out so Lord of Extinction would not get any extreme bonus from them having a fat graveyard for the win as you mentioned.

chickot said...

An extract from the comp rules:
606.3. A player may activate a loyalty ability of a permanent he or she controls any time he or she has
priority and the stack is empty during a main phase of his or her turn, but only if none of its loyalty
abilities have been activated that turn.

Anonymous said...

i would also like to see confirmation that you can use two of jaces abilities per turn because that statement really confused me

Anonymous said...

The first ability is not Fateseal. I wish people would stop saying that. Fateseal only worked on an opponent's library.