Popular Posts


Spell Thief No. 3

Happy Thursday MTG Peeps,

We hope you've made arrangements /called ahead to your local gaming store to reserve your spot and your Guild pack at this weekend's Return to Ravnica PreRelease.  We've already got a spot waiting for us at OMG! Games in Barrie, Ontario for Sunday (we couldn't make it to the Friday midnight or any of the Saturday times unfortunately).  If you are new to Barrie and near Georgian College, drop in and game.

This evening we dropped by 'Big B Comics', the local Comic shop around the corner from us and picked up the latest Magic: The Gathering Comics from IDW, so we wanted to share . . .

IDW Comic Book - Magic: The Gathering — The Spell Thief #3
Matt Forbeck (w) • Martín Cóccolo (a) • Matt Stewart (c)
Leaving his home plane behind, Dack Fayden returns to Innistrad, still in pursuit of the villainous Sifa Grent. He convenes with the Reichert family again, who provide Dack with crucial information on the evil Planewalker’s location. But when Sorin Markov arrives, looking for Dack, things quickly escalate and our hero finds himself in a situation where he may not come out alive…
FC • 32 pages • $4.99

MTG / IDW Promo Card
Standstill, 1u
When a player casts a spell, sacrifice Standstill. If you do, each of that player’s opponents draws three cards.
“You learn a lot in no time when you’re about to get your neck snapped.”
- Dack Fayden

Standstill saw original printing as an Odyssey Uncommon.

Rulings (10.04.2004) - It only works once. If someone casts another spell
after it triggers, but before that trigger resolves, then it will trigger again. The first time one of these triggers resolves, it will be sacrificed for the full effect. Any additional triggers on the stack will do nothing when they resolve because you will be unable to sacrifice it additional times.

Note from ratchet1215 (1/21/2011 10:52:45 AM) - Standstill is sacrificed on the RESOLUTION of the triggered ability, not when the ability goes on the stack. Only when the ability that draws you three cards resolves will Standstill cause itself to sacrifice. Stifle, Trickbind, or Voidslime would counter not only the card draw but also the sacrifice of Standstill. Of course, playing any one of those ability counterspells just causes another instance of Standstill's triggered ability to be put on the stack on top of it, so the point is moot.


No comments: